Skip to content ↓


The National 5 Computing Science course develops knowledge and understanding of key concepts and processes in computing science; enabling learners to apply skills and knowledge in analysis, design, implementation and evaluation to a range of digital solutions. Learners communicate computing concepts and explain computational behaviour clearly and concisely using appropriate terminology, and develop an understanding of the role and impact of computing science in changing and influencing our environment and society.

The course consists of four areas of study.

  • Software design and development
  • Computer systems
  • Database design and development
  • Web design and development

The course assessment has two components totalling 160 marks:

  • Component 1: question paper – worth 110 marks
  • Component 2: assignment – worth 50 marks.

For the timed assignment component, you will be asked to analyse a computing problem, design and implement a solution, and produce a short report on how you tested it. 

The grade awarded is based on the total marks achieved across all course assessment components. The course assessment is graded A-D.

Useful links